top of page

STories from the heart

Story: Try It Brave

Written by: Miao Ting


While I was drafting the proposal and thinking of a theme for this website, a thought was replaying many times over in my mind: Am I really up to this?


It all started with a chat over breakfast with Rebecca about this project that I might be able to volunteer my time with. 3 months into it and it still baffles me, why would anyone trust me to build a website? I could build an excel spreadsheet and automate it with formulas, but a website was something I’ve never attempted.


Rebecca assured me that we are all exploring this together and that she will find me support if I needed any. I drew courage from this confidence that she had and started working on it. After many trial and errors, endless do’s and undo’s; one alphabet, one color, one box and one click at a time, this website is now almost ready.


It is not perfect and will likely have flaws that are obvious to veterans, but it was an attempt to focus beyond the louder voice of doubt, and listening to the softer voice in me that says “let’s try”. This perhaps... is courage?


“Celebrating Courageous Lives” – This tagline came about when I was trying to figure out what is the one thing that everyone has in them to help them overcome life’s challenges? I think that something is Courage.


Having courage does not mean that you are not afraid anymore. Instead, it is doing things bravely despite hearing the whispers of fear. What I did might sound like small courage to some, but as a risk-averse person, it took me a lot of courage to take on something that I wasn’t sure if I was able to deliver.


I hardly feel any excitement, but now with the website almost ready, I’m finally feeling something. Someone once told me that exciting things will not drop from the sky for me – I need to chase after them. And I’m glad I did.


I hope that the writings coming in through this website will be uplifting and inspiring. So why not be the inspiration and try sharing your story, you wouldn’t know how far it will go to encourage and spur someone on (:


192 views

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page